1. Skip to content

Recession Advice & Support

ARE YOU CONCERNED ABOUT THE CURRENT CREDIT CRUNCH? DO YOU KNOW WHO TO TURN TO FOR HELP AND ADVICE?

We are aware that we are in the midst of some challenging times and the Borough Council, in partnership with Charnwood Together, are looking at how the credit crunch is affecting individuals, local communities and businesses of Charnwood now and in the future. The list below highlights key local and national agencies who can offer you advice and guidance on how to deal with issues like being made redundant or having problems paying your rent.

If you would like to talk to your local Councillor please follow this link to find their details http://www.charnwood.gov.uk/pages/councillors The government have produced some helpful guidance for volunteers and businesses and this can be found www.cabinetoffice.gov.uk/

If you are having problems please contact the relevant organisations as soon as possible, they are there to help you.

Issue/
Organisation

PhoneEmailWebsite
Advice for Older People
Age Concern 0116 299 2233 enquiries@ageconcernleics.comwww.ageconcern.org.uk
Advice for Young People
Connexions01509 214002 01664 569 966

loughborough@connexions-leics.org
melton@connexions-leics.org

www.connexions-leics.org
Advice for Businesses
Charnwood Borough Council 01509 634831 business.info@charnwood.gov.ukwww.charnwoodbusiness.com
Business Link Leicestershire 0845 0586644 Via the websitewww.businesslink.gov.uk
General Advice

COUNCIL TAX
Charnwood Borough Council

01509 634807 Council.tax@charnwood.gov.uk www.charnwood.gov.uk
CRIME
Leicestershire Police
0116 222222 Via the website www.leics.police.pnn.uk
Debt Advice
JobCentre Plus 0800 0556688 Via the website www.jobcenterplus.gov.uk
Consumer Credit Counselling Service 0800 1381111 Via the website www.cccs.co.uk
Citizens Advice Bureau 01509 267376 Charnwoodcab.org.uk www.charnwoodcab.org.uk
Clockwise Credit Union 0116 2471740 enquiries@clockwise-cu.co.uk www.clockwise-cu.co.uk
Debt Line 0800 4085316 Via the website www.debt-line.org.uk
Financial Services Authority (FSA) 0845 6061234 Via the website www.moneymadeclear.fsa.gov.uk
Insolvency Service 0845 6029848 Via the website www.insolvency.gov.uk
Leicestershire County Debt line 0844 2480040 0844 2480040 www.leics.gov.uk
 Loan Shark 0116 2179550 tradingstandards@leics.gov.uk www.leics.gov.uk
National Debtline 0808 808 000 Via the websitewww.nationaldebtline.co.uk
 Voluntary Action Charnwood 01509 631750  www.voluntaryactioncharnwood.org.uk
Payplan 0800 917 823  www.payplan.com
Better Priced Energy 0116 299 5146 Via the website www.better-priced-energy.org.uk
Leicestershire Social Services 0116 305 7404 0116 305 6631 adultsocialcare@leics.gov.uk childrenssocialcare@leics.gov.uk www.leics.gov.uk
Health Advice
Please contact your local GP or NHS Direct 0845 4647 Via the website www.nhsdirect.nhs.uk
Warm Front Hardship Grant 0800 3162805 (freephone) Via the website www.warmfront.co.uk
Housing Advice
Appling for a Council House Homelessness Charnwood Borough Council 01509 634567 housing@charnwood.gov.uk www.charnwood.gov.uk
Homelessness Shelter The Bridge Housing Services 0808 800 444 01509 260500 Via the website www.shelter.org.uk/adviceonline www.bridgehousingservices.com
Housing Benefit Charnwood Borough Council 01509 634844 benefits@charnwood.gov.uk www.charnwood.gov.uk
Legal Advice Community Legal Advice 0845 3454345 Via the website www.clsdirect.gov.uk
Rent Arrears/ Housing Advice Charnwood Borough Council 01509 634567 housing@charnwood.gov.uk www.charnwood.gov.uk
East Midlands 01530 839091 Via the website www.emha.org
Housing AssociationDe Montfort Housing Society 0116 220555 Via the website www.waterloo.org.uk
Derwent Living 01332 346477 info@derwentliving.com www.derwentliving.com
LHA-ASRA 0116 2576700 enquiries@lha-asra.org.uk www.lha-asra.org.uk
Housing 21 0870 1924000 Lettings@housing21.co.uk www.housing21.co.uk
Sanctuary Housing 0116 2536646 enquiries@asra-midlands.org.uk www.sanctuary-housing.co.uk
Training & Skills Loughborough College Advice & Guidance 01509 215831 0845 166 2950 Via the website www.loucoll.ac.uk